Amongst the 41 exhibitors, along with established artists and some of whom have not exhibited for a good while, nearly a half of them are newcomers to Y Lle Celf. Moreover, there is a healthy representation of artists from the festival’s host area which will give the exhibition a local feel.

From painting and ceramics, digital art and metal work, animation to video installation, the artistic range is all encompassing.

“The Open Exhibition at Y Lle Celf gives an insight to what is happening within the art world in Wales at a given time and is an opportunity to celebrate excellence, innovation and commitment in contemporary art and crafts,” said the National Eisteddfod’s Visual Arts Officer, Robyn Tomos. “It is also affords an opportunity for debate and to encourage the appreciation and understanding of the visual arts.”

The Open Exhibition was selected by artist Manon Awst, curator Bruce Haines and applied arts specialist Teleri Lloyd-Jones.

Given that there are worthy artists, the winners of the Gold Medals for Fine Art and Craft and Design and Young Artist Scholarship will be announced at the National Eisteddfod on Saturday, 3 August. During the week the winners of the Ivor Davies Award, to  artwork that conveys the spirit of activism in the struggle for language, culture and politics in Wales; the Tony Goble Award, to an artist exhibiting for the first time and the Contemporary Art Society for Wales Purchase Prize will also be made public. As is customary, the Josef Herman Award – the People’s Choice, given to the most popular work in the Open Exhibition, will be revealed, after the votes have been counted, on the last Saturday. This year, for the first time, National Museum Wales will purchase artwork to indicate the institutions commitment to supporting Wales’ artists and their importance to its acquisition strategy.

Y Lle Celf at the National Eisteddfod of Wales is realised in partnership with Arts Council for Wales.


Y Lle Celf 2019 Open Exhibition

Here’s a list of participating artists.

Susan Adams      

Glyn Baines

Bev Bell-Hughes

Zena Blackwell    

Lisa Carter          

Sarah Carvell

Hannah Cash

Alison Craig         

Kim Dewsbury

Gwen Evans

Ann Catrin Evans

Barry Eveleigh     

Rosie Farey

David Garner       

Morgan Griffith    

Helen Grove-White

Louise Hibbert              

+ Chloe Needham

Mark Houghton    

Maggie James     

Rhian Wyn Jones

Richard Lloyd Lewis

Elfyn Lewis         

David W J Lloyd   

Catrin Llwyd        

Gweni Llwyd

Gwenllian Llwyd

Kieran Lyons       

Anne-Mie Melis   

Eleri Mills            

Sara Rhoslyn Moore

Sian Parri

Tomos Sparnon   

André Stitt          

Siw Thomas

Laura Thomas     

Daniel Trivedy     

James + Tilla Waters

Gwyn Williams     

Heulwen Wright